Lorex Connect App - Recorder Settings
Lorex Connect AppEach recorder has its own Recorder Settings for Storage, Device info, Error Warnings, Sharing Devices, Help, and Removing Devices.
- Live View
- Open Recorder Settings
- Advanced Encryption Settings
- Storage Settings
- Device Info
- Error Warnings
- Shared Device
- Help
- Remove Device
- Explore More Helpful Guides
Live View
View the camera footage for the cameras connected to your recorder.
- In the home screen, tap on the play button or one of the thumbnails of your connected cameras.
-
Tap Snapshot to take a picture of the footage that is playing and save it to your device.
-
Tap Record to start recording the footage that is playing and tap it again to stop the recording.
- Tap Light to turn on the camera lights. Tap again to turn it off.
- Tap Siren and confirm to turn on the camera siren and tap again to turn it off.
- Tap Talk to turn on two-way talk and speak into your microphone. Your voice will play from the camera speaker. Tap again to stop.
-
If your camera is a PTZ camera, tap Pan-tilt to orient your camera. Refer to PTZ Controls for more information.
- Tap Respond to quickly respond to people in front of your camera with a preset response.
- Tap View to change the layout of the camera live view screens.
Open Recorder Settings
From the
Home tab, tap
> Recorder Settings on your recorder's image preview.
Note: Your recorder may have different options depending on the model.

Advanced Encryption Settings
Set up encryption for your cloud recordings, live streams and thumbnails. A passkey will be required in order to access this information.
- Go to Recorder Settings > Advanced Encryption (this setting will only be available if your device and firmware support this feature).
- Tap to toggle the slider and enable the feature.
- Follow the steps to setup Advanced Encryption, including adding a passkey if you do not yet have one set up.

Storage Settings
View the storage settings for each camera and format your cameras here.
- Go to Recorder Settings > Storage.

- Select a camera to view its Mode, Status, Type, Remaining/Total Space, Recording Time, and to Format the camera/delete all of it's footage and data.
- Tap Save to confirm changes.
Device Info
View information on your recorder, change the name of your recorder, or reboot it in case of device error.
- Go to Recorder Settings > Device info.

- Change the Device name, or view the Time zone, Firmware version, Device ID, Serial number, IP address, and MAC address.
- Tap Reboot Device to reset all recorder information.
Error Warnings
Change your recorder's response to common errors.
- Go to Recorder Settings > Error Warnings.

- Tap Hard Drive Full > Enable responses to Hard Drive Full and/or Send email by toggling the sliders and tap Save to confirm.
- Tap Hard Drive Error > Enable responses to Hard Drive Error and/or Send email by toggling the sliders and tap Save to confirm.
- Tap Video Loss > Enable responses to Video Loss and/or Send email by toggling the sliders and tap Save to confirm.
Shared Device
Share your recorder with trusted family members or friends so they can view it in the Lorex Connect app.
To share from a specific camera:
- Go to Recorder Settings > Share device on your recorder's image preview and select the device you would like to share.
- Select the permissions you want to give (for example, Live View, Playback, or Events).
- Enter the user’s email (they must have a Lorex Connect account), then tap Confirm.
To manage shared users:
- Go to App Settings > Shared Users.
- View pending invites, edit permissions, or remove users as needed.


Help
If you lose the password to your device, it can be reset here.
- Go to Recorder Settings > Help > Reset Device Password.


- Tap Get verification code and input the code sent to your email, where it says Enter Code. Tap Okay.
- Enter and confirm a new password, then tap Okay to confirm. Tap Okay again to return to the recorder settings page.
Remove Device
Remove your recorder connection from the Lorex Connect App.
- Go to Recorder Settings.

- Tap Remove Device, then tap Delete to confirm.
